Sticks and Stones

“Harsh words can hit and stick like shrapnel in the mind. Tragically a victim might spend the better part of a lifetime trying to get the brain to unload it. Whoever thought up the saying, “Sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me” ought to be drawn and quartered. Nothing could be further from reality. Unfair names and ugly words do harm us, and that harm can be permanent. We need to guard what we say about other people, especially our children and loved ones.” (Getting Through The Tough Stuff by Charles R. Swindoll, Page 27)

The above quote is spot on. It is something we really do need to realize. The power that is in the words we speak, the things that we say. They do effect others. They can do extreme damage to the heart and soul of a person.

Even when we know that these are often said in the heat of the moment and we know in our heart of hearts that they did not mean it, it still hurts, the words cut deeply and often takes time to heal

We all know that the tongue, is an unruly member that can get us into intense trouble. That can destroy others in a second if it is not kept under control.

The words we speak can crush another’s heart, their spirit. Learning to control our tongue, the words that we speak is very important.

I can attest to the fact that many in my youth, relatives, spoke words that utterly destroyed me within. Convinced me that I would never do anything, never accomplish anything and I believed that most of my life.

But my Father has made me realize that nothing in my life was an accident. That everything that has happen has gotten me to the place that He wants me. That He can and will finish that which He has purposed for me to do. That I am a pen in His hand. That He is teaching me to know Him. To know His heart and that He is teaching me to love others with His love.

It is only when we are brought to that place of realization, that the only way we can live, have purpose, is to become utterly and totally dependent upon the Lord.

It is then that the Lord can reach down and take this clay, this broken vessel and begin to shape it into a vessel that will bring honor to Him, that will glorify the Lord.

That we will begin to see ourselves as the Lord sees us. With eyes of love and compassion. That He builds us up in the spirit. He restores hope and lets us see with His eyes.

We are not failures. Oh, we have stumbled and fallen but our Father picks us up and says press on and press in. He gives us hope and He lets us know that we are indeed precious in His sight.

That the words, the things that were spoken, the areas of pain, of despair, of hopelessness, will be deflected as we lift up that shield of faith, as we put on the armour of God.

The Lord is returning the heart of the Father, He is bringing restoration to our whole being if we let Him, as we look upward to the hope that is in Christ and not inward to the failure of man.

We are not a mistake. We are chosen for a time such as this to remind others of the hope that is within, of the life changing power of Christ.

I trust my friends that what I am sharing with you makes sense, for I try to share from the heart of the Father and sometimes I feel like I have fallen so short but yet I know it is the Lord that is responsible for the results and what I often think won’t make sense, is what makes the most sense to others.

Our Father has a sense of humor. He loves it when we come into His presence and chat with Him. To instant message with the Lord. I know, I know, Paul, your stretching it. Am I?

I know that as I go through the day that there are thoughts going back and forth between my Father and me as He leads me through the day.

I am saying all of this to say, what we say, what we speak, what we listen to effects us and it effects others. That the words that we speak will be life or death, hope or despair and it is only as allow the Lord to change us, mold us, that we will be vessels of life to others as we speak and share from the wells of living water, as we share the Lord. As we build up, not tear down one another, but building up one another in the faith, sharing the reality of the Christ within.

Till later,

Paul

aka The Mayor 🙂

This post original shared March 2005

About Paul E. Dawn Jr. aka The Mayor :-)

Father/Grandfather/Writer/Cancer Survivor
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sticks and Stones

  1. Pingback: Put on the whole armour of God | bummyla

  2. Thanks Bummyla for the link to this post!

    I will add you to my links and looking forward to reading your other posts!

    Blessings,

    Your brother and fellow servant,

    Paul
    🙂

Leave a Reply

