She's Gone!!

I just watched an old friend be hauled off, to be recycled and used for something else, what, I will never know.

It brought a little sadness to my heart as I watched her be towed away. I always referred to her as her because she was so faithful, but last week her heart just gave out!

Betsy’s transmission just gave out, no heart left and she was beyond repair, not redeemable, so I watched her be towed away, I felt such a sadness in my heart and tears welled up in my eyes, for Betsy and I shared a lot of trips together!

She is gone and I will miss her!

I am so glad that we are not beyond redemption, aren’t you?

That even at the last moment, there is hope, even as there was for one of the two men that were being crucified with our Lord and He recognized that he was guilty of his sins but the Lord was not and he said, “remember me this day” and the Lord did.

I am glad that when I broke down, as I went through the battle with cancer, through the surgeries, the divorce, that He never forsook me or left me, rather He redeemed me in my brokenness.

He took this broken vessel and brought life forth and gave new hope, new purpose in the birthing of Hill Country Thoughts, of writing, a coffee cup ministry and more friends then I could ever realize.

And now a new venture may beginning and I would love for you to pray for me and this new journey, I am at a crossroads in my life, a new journey and it is my hope, that next April, I will begin a journey with Youth With A Mission – Strategic Frontier in Colorado Springs, Colorado, were I would be doing a three month Crossroads DTS Training and two month outreach.

I will be following in the steps of my children, as my son Joshua and daughter Elise have been part of Youth With A Mission in Colorado Springs, as well as Teen Missions in Florida.

My oldest daughter Gloria too was and is involved with Teen Missions, even the grandkids too, have been part of Teen Missions.

Please keep this in your prayers, as I share in the weeks ahead my journey. I will also be expanding my coffee cup tent stakes also. There are a lot of coffee shops in The Springs, Please pray also that the Lord would provide me with a car, for nothing is impossible with God!

Till later,

Paul
A Heart Set Free!

About Paul E. Dawn Jr. aka The Mayor :-)

Father/Grandfather/Writer/Cancer Survivor
This entry was posted in Coffee Thoughts, General, Hope, Ponderings, Prayer, Writers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to She's Gone!!

  1. sparrow says:

    What a bummer that your car gave up the ghost.

    you shared,
    …rather He redeemed me in my brokenness.

    The perfect condition of having no condition to offer anything other than our brokeness. When we come to the end of ourselves is when God begins His wondrous work. What a beautiful testimony you have, Brother Paul.

    Matthew 5
    3 Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
    4 Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.
    5 Blessed are the meek(mild in their long sufferings) for they shall inherit the earth.
    6 Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

    Asking the Lord’s Will in your request.

  2. Linda says:

    Hi,
    I’m just new to Over 50 Bloggers and I thought I’d stop in to say Merry Christmas! Hope 2008 is great!

  3. Kat says:

    Hi Georgia Cowboy! long time no visit here. I do hope you have a very Merry Christmas, sorry to see Betsy go, but you had best of times her right? I can’t say I am every sorry to see a car go, I am just not attached to them like that. It sounds like your future has some wonderful things in store for you, something wonderful to look forward too. enjoy the holidays. Later gator

  4. Norma says:

    What a wonderful opportunity for you–and all the people whose lives you’ll touch. YWAM is a Spirit led program.

  5. Jan says:

    Hi, Paul,

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

    I intended to comment on this post before this but kept forgetting. You are taking a big step forward with your plans. I pray you will be blessed and be a blessing to others in your new endeavor.

    Jan

  6. Brooke Hammel says:

    Hi Paul! My husband Jason and I met you last night at the Serene Bean in Woodstock. I have been reading your blog. It is a great encouragement to me.
    Just wanted to comment on this particular one because you mention YWAM… I used to live in Colorado Springs and used to attend Friday night worship at the YWAM base there. It’s a really neat base and they have a wonderful mission out of that base as well. One of my dreams is to do a DTS. My parents did a lot of work with YWAM with their ministry, Healing for the Nations, and I have a lot of “YWAMer” friends.

    It’s great to have met you. Keep doing what you’re doing. You are a great witness to many as to the redeeming and restoring power of God! Something I sure need to be reminded of now.

    God bless you brother!

    Brooke

Leave a Reply

