Resting In The Lord!!

It is a little after 03:00 AM in the morning when I woke up and came and sat on the front porch. You know what I heard? Nothing, absolutely nothing!



Not even the sound of the crickets. It was as if everything was at peace, resting in the morning hours.



Then I realized, that earlier I had laid down for a few minutes to rest for awhile and that my thoughts were on the Lord and when I woke, I woke to a calmness and peacefulness of heart and soul.



I became aware that the Lord had given me a taste of what it means to rest in Him. To know His presence in the midst of all that is going on in my life. I have a peace, rest and assurance that the Lord is well aware of what I have need of and that He wants me to rest, to simply rest in Him!



He wants us to know that we can truly rest in Him. That in Him we will find the strength for the day. That He has not given us a spirit of fear but of a sound mind. That He has given us an assurance that He will walk with us day by day as we rest in Him.



We were talking in bible study the other day, that the Lord is bringing us back to the basics, to the foundational truths of simply believing Him, trusting Him and walking in His ways and learning to rest in that which He has done and is doing in our lives.



I think that often times, we make it more complicated than it should be. The word of God says: “Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy-burden and I will cause you to rest [I will ease and release your souls]” Matthew 11:28 Amplified Bible.



He wants us to come to a place of rest, not to be in spiritual anxiety, but to be at ease, at rest. That He wants to give us that peace that passes all understanding. He wants us to be refreshed in Him.



That we take comfort in His Word, in His Presence!



Rest in the Lord my friends, Rest in the Lord!!



Till later,

Paul

About Paul E. Dawn Jr. aka The Mayor :-)

Father/Grandfather/Writer/Cancer Survivor
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

